You are here

Pilot Cities

Based on Culture 21 Actions, and building on the experiences of the Pilot City programme of 2014, 2015 and 2016, the Committee on culture of UCLG launched the programme called ‘Culture in Sustainable Cities. Learning with Culture 21 Actions’. This programme enables participating cities to become “Pilot Cities” of the Agenda 21 for culture, and permits them to participate in a learning, capacity-building and connectivity strenghtening process, on the basis of the principles and actions included in Culture 21 Actions.

Two programmes have been developped: the Global Pilot City programme, and the European Pilot City programme:

Global Pilot Cities programme 

Global Pilot Cities programme

Pilot Cities in Europe programme 

Pilot Cities in Europe programme

Our Pilot Cities are

Global programme

Baie-Mahault (Guadeloupe, France)
Chignahuapan (Puebla, Mexico)
Concepción (Chile)
Córdoba (Argentina)
Cuenca (Azuay, Ecuador)
Escazú (Costa Rica)
Jinju (Republic of Korea)
Konya (Turkey)
La Paz (Bolivia)
Mérida (Yucatán, México)
Muriaé (Minas Gerais, Brazil)
Puebla (Mexico)
Santa Fe (Santa Fe, Argentina)
Sinaloa (Mexico)

European programme

Eivissa/Ibiza (Balearic Islands, Spain)
Elefsina (Greece)
Esch-sur-Alzette (Luxemburg)
Gabrovo (Bulgaria)
Galway (Ireland)
Izmir (Turkey)
Leeds (England, United Kingdom)
Lisbon (Portugal)
Madrid (Madrid, Spain)
Namur (Wallonia, Belgium)
Nova Gorica (Slovenia)
Rijeka (Croatia)
Swansea (Wales, United Kingdom)
Tenerife (Canary Islands, Spain)
Terrassa (Catalonia, Spain)
Timişoara (Romania)

The European programme is run in cooperation with Culture Action Europe and in collaboration with the CEMR.